

Thomas L. Brown, President
Todd Roberts, Senior Vice President
Rick Andritsch, Vice President
Ken Kubacki, Treasurer
Jeffrey D. Shoaf, Chief Executive Officer
James V. Christianson, Chief Operating Officer

March 4, 2025

Chairman Ted Cruz Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Ranking Member Maria Cantwell Commerce, Science & Transportation Committee United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

RE: AGC Support for Paul Roberti's Nomination to the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration

Dear Chairman Cruz and Ranking Member Cantwell:

The Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) supports the nomination of Mr. Paul Roberti as Administrator of the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA). AGC is a national construction trade association representing more than 28,000 construction firms with chapters and members in every state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. AGC members are engaged in excavation and utility construction including pipelines and understand the importance of their safety and infrastructure.

Mr. Roberti has demonstrated leadership in pipeline safety when he served as PHMSA Chief Counsel during the previous Trump administration. This role gave him valuable background experience and an understanding of the needs of America's pipeline system. Mr. Roberti also has pipeline experience from serving as Commissioner on the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission, which provides him with additional knowledge and experience that can benefit PHMSA's work nationwide.

Importantly, Mr. Roberti understands the important role pipelines serve in transporting energy safely and efficiently into our economy. The construction of pipelines will provide cheaper energy for Americans and support well-paying construction jobs across the country.

AGC looks forward to working with Mr. Roberti on the construction and safety of our pipeline system. As such, we urge the Senate to quickly confirm his nomination.

Sincerely,

Jeffrey D. Shoaf

Chief Executive Officer

CC: All members of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science & Transportation